Thursday , October 24 2019
Home / australia / Behrouz Boochani: Arrested Asylum Seeker Wins Australia's Worst Literary Prize | News from the world

Behrouz Boochani: Arrested Asylum Seeker Wins Australia's Worst Literary Prize | News from the world

The winner of the Australian literary prize winner was not attending the ceremony.

His absence was not an option.

Behrouz Boochani, whose debut book won the US $ 25,000 prize at the Victorian premiere of literary awards and the $ 100,000 Victorian prize for literature on Thursday night, is not allowed in Australia.

The Kurdish Iranian writer is an asylum seeker who is kept in the purge of Manus Island in Papua New Guinea for nearly six years, first behind the wire of the Australian offshore detention center, and then in an alternative accommodation on the island.

Now his book No Friend, but the Mountains – composed of one message at the same time from the detention center – was recognized by the government of the same country that denied access and closed it.

That said, "a paradoxical feeling."

"I really do not know what to say," he told the Guardian in conversation before the main prize was announced when he only knew about the fiction award. – I certainly did not write this book just to get a reward.

"My main goal was always to make people in Australia and around the world deeply understand how this system has tortured innocent people in Manus and Nauru in a systematic manner for almost six years. I hope this award will draw more attention to our situation, create change and end the barbarian policy. "

Boochans speak with text messages because his internet connection is constantly interrupted.

For an asylum seeker who was detained in an offshore detention to get such a major prize "brings a huge shame to the Australian government," he said.

Accepting awards on behalf of Boochani was his translator Omid Tofighian, who worked with Moones Mansoubi translator to translate Boochani's text into English.

"You can not underestimate the impact that can [this win] will have on Australian policy and Australian refugee policy – not just in Australia [but for] displaced and displaced people around the world, "said Tofighian.

"This is one of the most sophisticated forms of neo-colonial oppression currently taking over the world – and in order to address this book and recognize it and turn your attention to the narrative they will present will have the consequences for many generations to come."

Awards are divided into seven categories, which are evaluated by the panel. In 2017 and 2018, women won each category, and this year they dominated the list of winners, and Elise Valmorbida won the award for fiction with the Madonna Mountains; Kendall Feaver won a dramatic award for his performance Sometimes Almighty; Kate Lilley won the Tilt Poetry Award; Victoria Hannan won an unpublished $ 15,000 handwritten prize for Kokomo; and Bri Lee receive a prize for the selection of people for her memoirs Eggshell Skull.

Skull Creator Eggshell Bri Lee Wins Award for Choosing People at Literary Awards Victorian Prime Minister

The skull author Eggshell Bri Lee won the prize for selecting people at the Victorian premieres of literary awards. Photo: Hannah Koelmeyer

After last year's Nib Prize, this is the second prize for debut, memoirs accompanying Lee's trip from a judge's associate to seeking justice through courts for child sexual abuse courts.

She now receives "hundreds" of emails and messages from other victims of sexual abuse.

"Everyone I answer," she said. "All in all I get enough messages about such hope and optimism, and people actually make life-changing decisions after reading this book, and even though I get a lot of disturbing messages, it's all good. The only thing I can hope for as a writer is to get some way to people. "

Lee said that the unexpected commercial success of the book gave her the "most beautiful gift of freedom to write what I want next".

He is currently working on a series of essays.

The award of a young adult has won Amel and Ezekiel Kwaymullin for Catching Teller Crow.

The author of Western Australia Kim Scott, the double award winner, Miles Franklin, has won an autochthonous reward for his novel Tab, a modern community that reconciles the historical and cultural legacy of the Noongaran land in Southwest WA. .

It is based on experience in his country in Ravensthorpe, halfway between Albany and Esperance.

"My country of ancestors is considered the taboo of many aboriginal people for the killing that occurred there in the late 19th century," he said. "I did not even know about it until I was full, that nasty edge of our history … the emotional infrastructure of time did not allow or maybe not allow it."

Scott said the novel was intended for "many of us who were damaged by colonization, and I would have imagined that people who are not Aborigines … the treatment and strengthening of our relationship with pre-colonial heritage.

– It's all in the foundations and foundations … and finding ways to get emotional and spiritual infrastructure. Stories are really important to it, but things like Uluru. They help us find a way to deal with these things.

Victorian premieres award for 2019: list of winners


Winner: Our Lady of Mount Elise Valmorbida

Shortlist: Flames by Robbie Arnott; Ironbark Jay Carmichaela; Autumn Fall: and other stories about San Gines of Morena Giovannoni; Death Noah Glass Gail Jones; Too many lips Melissa Lucashenko


Winner: No Friend, but Mountains: Writing from Manus Prison by Behrouz Boochani

Shortlist: Stay: Memoar Jessie Cole; Arsonist: All is Fire by Chloe Hooper; Ivy Skull Bri Lee; Miss Ex-Yugoslavia: Sofija Stefanović; Axiomatic Maria Tumarkin


Winner: Sometimes get rid of Kendall Feaver

Shortlist: Michele Lee leaves; Barbara and log dogs Ursule Yovich and Alan Valentine


Winner: High Kate Lilley

Shortlist: Damage from Eunice Andrada flood; Dental Teeth Rae White

Writing for the young

Winner: They caught the gang of Ambeline Kwaymullin and Ezekiel Kwaymullin

Shortlist: Amelia Westlake of Erin Gough; Among us, Clare Atkins

Domestic writing

Winner: Tabu Kim Scott

Shortlist: Ordinary people Tony Birch; Too Much Lips Melissa Lucashenko; Blakwork Alison Whittaker

Unpublished manuscript

Winner: Kokomo Victoria Hannan

Shortlist: The Wedding Island of John Byrona; Frontier Sport Waynea Marshall

Source link