Sunday , May 16 2021

drivers turn to the three Quaremont-Paterberg-Koppenberg, van der Poel in their place

The Flanders (WorldTour), the most fascinating Flemish Classics, celebrate the 103nd birthday of Antwerp and Audenaerde this Sunday. The race, which starts at 10:45 in Antwerp, has changed very little compared to last year when it won Dutchman Niki Terpstra. The goal for Audenaerde is around 17:10, after a 270.1km race.

After 90km of racing, four took the lead in the first asphalted area, 7 minutes ahead of the pack: Damien Touzé (Cofidis), Kenneth Van Rooy (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Hugo Houle (Astana) and Jesper Asselman (Roompot-Charles). Until then, no favorite has been revealed.

157 km from the goal, the title bearer, Niki Terpstra, has gone so far to the ground. He stayed inert for a long time on the ground, then moved his legs and somewhat "soared" the audience. But he could not leave.

The first climb to Old Quaremont was carried out without any problems for the main favorites. A few miles later, halfway (135km), the leading quartet still had a great advantage of 6 minutes.

At 122 km from Audenaerde, the Deceuninck – Quick-Step team has begun to strengthen the weather of the peloton in the tiled area of ​​Leberga.

In the last sector tiled before it approached the Wall of Grammont, a group of ten drivers escaped, 115 km from the goal, under the impulse of Olivier Le Gac. Adrien Petit, and Kasper Asgreen (Deuceninck – Quick-Step) and two Greyhound Van Averman teammates followed suit. They finally returned them.

Moving the Grammont Wall, 100km from the finals, split the peloton into several parts after the Magnus Corta Nielsen attack. It sounded like a ringing bell. Yves Lampaert and Nelson Oliveira escaped in a few kilometers.

Source link